top of page
Search

FGM in schools: Norbury Primary School

Updated: Dec 14, 2018


The staff and students of Norbury Primary School were awe-inspiring to meet. Originally I planned on attending their FGM monthly lesson on the 28th November, however it was rescheduled to January 2019 (great timing for me, *facepalm*) My heart sunk when they told me because the audio from this school interview is what I was looking forward to most.


Thankfully the school were very understanding and said I could come along anyway to meet two students (1 boy and 1 girl) and Nora Ibrahim, a community worker who leads the lessons. I requested we create a ‘mock lesson’ so the listener could visualise what the actual lessons consisted of, however we were pressed for time, so Nora has given me permission to use the audio from an online video of their lesson.

Listening to the pupils knowledge on FGM was really interesting, I noted down certain phrases and child-friendly alternatives they used to the hard-hitting, graphic terms I’d previously heard at the medical conference - I’ll be using these in my documentary.


All that's left to do is edit this interview and then my documentary is ready. I can't believe it's almost complete!

Production Blog
​
bottom of page