top of page
Search

Changing Ideas

Updated: Dec 5, 2018

It’s been a week since my Multimedia Project pitch, after reaching out to everyone and anyone and receiving multiple interview rejections from the reborn community I’ve now changed my idea to a topic I’m super passionate about: FGM (Female Genital Mutilation.)


Growing up in Bristol, a city with a big Somali community I’ve heard the term multiple times but I was surprised when not many of my peers at university had heard of it. This inspired me to base my final project on it.


Not only is choosing this topic for my MMP a great way to spread awareness, but it allows me to get a deeper personal understanding of it and I can explore the angle of it needing to be covered more in medical curricula and teacher training.


I’m planning on attending Integrate’s National Female Genital Conference organised by medical students to give guidance on FGM to health professionals and caregivers which takes place mid-November. I plan on getting soundbites from the conference, a few voxpops asking people what FGM education they received during their training and I aim on speaking to the organisers of the event.


I’ve reached out to everyone I wish to interview, so now we wait..


Please cross all limbs for me.



Production Blog
​
bottom of page